AU’s new VC makes major administrative reshuffle

AU’s new VC makes major administrative reshuffle

PRAYAGRAJ: In her first major administrative changes, since taking over as the new vice chancellor of Allahabad University (AU) early this week, Prof Sangita Srivastava has shuffled the administrative responsibilities looked after by faculty members of AU in various sections.

“There are many challenges confronting AU because of which AU has scored so low in national ranking and the administrative changes made by me are just an attempt to guide the varsity on a path walking on which we would expedite the efforts to overcome these shortcomings and regain the lost glory of this institution which has a rich legacy of its own”, said AU VC, Prof Srivastava.

In one such major change at the teacher’s recruitment cell of AU, Prof Dhananjay Yadav of the department of education has been made the Director, Faculty Recruitment Cell (FRC), replacing Prof JN Tripathi of department of Earth and Planetary Science. Likewise, Prof Ashish Saxena of department of Sociology has been appointed as deputy director, FRC in place of Prakash Kumar Singh of department of Earth and Planetary Science.

Similarly, Prof Syed Ibrahim Rizvi of department of Biochemistry has been appointed as the new Dean (Research and Development) of the central university. He took charge of the post from Prof AK Rai of Physics department, on Saturday.

Prof Pankaj Kumar of department of political science has been appointed as Dean (College Development Council) in place of Prof Prashant Agrawal of department of defence and strategic studies, informed AU (PRO) Shailendra Mishra.

Prof JA Ansari, department of Electronics and Communication has been appointed as Director of UGC-HR Development Centre in place of Prof Arun Kumar of department of commerce and business administration, he added.

Prof Harsh Kumar of department of ancient history has been appointed as coordinator of the Centre of Film and Theatre and head of the department of Journalism and Mass Communication in place of Prof Dhananjay Yadav of Education department, who would be taking over as the new director FRC on Monday.

In another administrative change, Prof Heramb Chaturvedui, department medieval and modern history has been appointed as director Institute of Gandhian Thought and Peace Studies, replacing Prof Yogeshwar Tiwari of the same department.

Prof NB Singh of department of Botany has been reappointed as garden-charge of the varsity.

The new VC has also reconstituted the ICT cell of AU by appointing Prof Suneet Dwivedi of KBCAOS as its chairman and making Ashish Khare and Richa Mishra of department of electronics and communication as its members and Tanveer Jahan Siddiqui of the same department as its convenor.

Likewise, Sonal Shankar of department of Law has been made in-charge of AU’s Legal cell along with Prof Rakesh Khanna (retd) as advisor to Legal Cell. Peeush Kumar, Law officer of the varsity will now coordinate work in the legal cell in consultation with Sonal Shankar and Prof Rakesh Khanna (retd).

As part of the reshuffle of joint and assistant registrar, joint registrar Sanjay Upadhyay has been transferred from the administration section to Examination section while AK Kanojia has been moved from Examination section to Administration (P/F/Admin/Committee). Similarly, assistant registrar Sunil Kumar Yadav has been shifted from Administration (faculty) section to Account section while assistant registrar Amit Tiwari has been moved from Account section to Administration section.
Source From : Times Of India

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *